is solo roaming like spvp?

in WvW

Posted by: Dabrixmgp.4758

Dabrixmgp.4758

so wanted to make a character for roaming around when I dont feel like playing in large group fights. Decided to make a Mesmer and been playing around in sPvP but im getting owned. By owned I dont mean the guy has more skill than me. I mean I just die before I can even get clones up or dodge or do anything else to react. Also I dont know what the hell skill Maul is but its hitting me for 10k damage. Im doing good then all of a sudden Im dead. Same thing with Necros. Im doing good, they do something and then i get hit three times for 4k damage per hit and Im dead.

Im 100% sure this is a L2play issue on my part since Im still learning the class but Is that pretty much how its going to be if I run around solo in WvW as well? I dont even understand how to try and counter people if they can kill you in seconds. If its that bad I will just stick to the zerg.

in WvW

Posted by: Pavel.8531

Pavel.8531

Basically – nope. The gear/food/stacks in wvw allow for a lot more burst damage – you need good map awareness and fingers on stun breaker at all times. So you might think that since you are some hot kitten in pvp you will do ok solo roaming in wvw… nope, pvp generally in wvw just helps for knowing tells from skills. Builds and playstyle differ a lot. WvW roaming has its own learling curve.

in WvW

Posted by: Banzie.5248

Banzie.5248

I have to agree and say, Not even close.

Not only does it allow more burst, food, stacks, gear, but in my opinion is far more difficult than Spvp. There are cookie cutter builds, but if you meet someone skilled in their class while you’re not skilled in WvW Roaming but running a cookie cutter build you’ll probably lose. WvW also allows for far, far more build variety than spvp ever has or will.

Isle Of Janthir

in WvW

Posted by: Stand The Wall.6987

Stand The Wall.6987

Essentially yes but with longer respawn times.