D/D Aura Ele, is this build still viable?

in Elementalist

Posted by: Auditore.8926

Auditore.8926

Hi everyone

I started playing an Elementalist, and double teaming with a friend’s Ele for just about everything.. He’s playing his Ele with a staff, while I prefer daggers.

I found this great build post September patch. I love the support and style and was wondering if it is still viable or is it changed (and how much). Also, someone in the comments mentioned to use Celestial, instead of Valkyrie Armor.

D/D Aura Ele Buildhttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7O6iaQmMJaA

Also, any helpful hints / tricks are much appreciated.

in Elementalist

Posted by: Purple Miku.7032

Purple Miku.7032

It’s effective in WvW and PvP but trash in PvE really because the utilities are wasteful, the runes/sigils aren’t very practical either, and D/D offers less DPS and defensive utility than D/F does.

You can use D/D for leveling up in open world PvE and it’s fine for things like that, but never take it in groups when doing dungeons/fractals because dagger offhand is pretty bad there. You only really wanna use dagger offhand in instanced PvE when you’re either prestacking might before an encounter or quickly using RTL then swapping back to another weaponset. In like 99% of all other cases, go for either staff or D/F.

Staff offers the very best DPS for an ele and D/F offers a lot of blasts for might stacking mid-fight.

Check this guide out for more details.

http://dulfy.net/2014/07/11/gw2-elementalist-pve-class-guide-by-haviz-and-zelyhn/

in Elementalist

Auditore.8926

Ouch… 87 views and one single reply.

Thank you so much Purple Miku for replying and clearing this issue for me.
Guess it’s either WvW/PvP, or back to burning everything with a Staff in PvE xD

Thanks again for your reply.

in Elementalist

Posted by: Purple Miku.7032

Purple Miku.7032

No problem!