D/F Support Ele Vs DD Thief or DH Guard help

in Elementalist

Posted by: Pantoufle.9015

Pantoufle.9015

Hi all.

Fairly new Ele (hit 80 yesterday). Love playing support! Love the dagger/focus (PvP, WvW) build and the dagger/warhorn for healing fractals or other stuff and kittening around.

In sPvP, I’m starting to get the hang of it: chilling with teammates, keeping them alive. In WvW too: I was fighting over a camp in a 2v1 and they couldn’t kill me, though it was taking everything I had to stay alive. But I’m just learning, for now. Dying once a game.

But I’m having trouble against thieves or DH guardians. Any suggestions you guys have? It’s the ridiculous burst/intrerrupts they have. Or is that our weakness?

Things I tried:
-timing/spotting burst with Earth Overload or Obsidian flesh
-switching to water but not Overloading right away to bait an interrupt (though thieves still shut it down)
-putting distance between us, with lightning flash, when I need to heal

in Elementalist

Posted by: Wolfric.9380

Wolfric.9380

i don´t know your build. Thief depends on it heavily.
With focus i beat dragon hunters quite easy, but you need some punch to actually kill.
This is a training issue. Fight dragon hunters and use swirling winds and especially magnetic wave at the right time. With tempest you might have another reflect.
For traps doge, obsidian flesh if you want to assault him or even earth overload works well.
Thiefs are hard to beat. They disengage more or less at will. Against a thief you need to hit him very hard at once to actually kill him. My first month i lost most fights. The thief attacked, disengaged, attacked, disengage, attack … kill … Now the don´t kill me anymore but good ones just escape. So don´t be sad if you get low thief kills.