Help me 1v1 as an ele?

Help me 1v1 as an ele?

in Elementalist

Posted by: DrDivine.5378

DrDivine.5378

I recently started playing ele in pvp this week and one thing I really like about the profession is it does seem to really punish you for making mistakes and the play style is fun overall.

However, I feel like I’m ALMOST there to playing well as an ele, but fall short on a few combos. I’m using sceptor/focus on a particular build that has 6 in air that is supposed to use lightning flash ,mist form, arcane shield and glyph of the elementals. typically the stretgy is to roll through the air skills, then blind with earth, then tune to fire and use all those skills for more dps, I think it’s when I attune to water I get messed up.

The damage output can vary drastically, sometimes I feel like I pop a lot of dps, but in 1v1 not only do they heal all my damage (including most rangers lol), but I struggle to survive.

Any advice on what to do in 1v1 if this is a good build? I would really like some input.

(edited by DrDivine.5378)

Help me 1v1 as an ele?

in Elementalist

Posted by: LightningBlaze.4913

LightningBlaze.4913

I think you meant scepter/focus. I always recommend players that are still not familiar with the Ele to start with daphoenix bunker d/d build. Bunker builds are very forgiving in this game. These builds provide many ways for you to recover from multiple mistakes you will make as a beginner on small scale battles like 1v1. Even if you are like me that come from other mmos playing Mage type of classes with high damage/burst builds . In gw2, it is just easier to start as a bunker and then once you get familiar with the Ele and knowing what to avoid from the other profession skills and playstyle only then you should start playing with more risky yet still very effective builds like fresh air with scepter/d, s/f.

Heidia- The elementalist is the #1 most OP profession in this game since beta!

(edited by LightningBlaze.4913)

Help me 1v1 as an ele?