Newbie build help, Solo PvE Elem, levelling

in Elementalist

Posted by: sindyr.5306

sindyr.5306

Hello all, I’m new to GW2, just bought a HoT Ultimate bundle and thought I would jump into the game. Playing a Human Elementalist, currently level 11. My plan is to be able to solo effectively through PvE, and to level methodically. Not looking to race to the finish, but I am looking to bring as much DPS to each fight as I can and still be VERY survivable.

I don’t mind spending on gems or gold if it makes the game more fun. I should also mention that usually in these games my fun is the journey while leveling, usually after hitting max level I retire the character and start a new and different one. So I want to have as much fun going from 1 to 80, as I don’t know whether I would continue to play on the character after.

I am confused or uncertain about several things, as to what is the most effective choice for both survivability and massive DPS:

1) Do I gear for precision or power? I purchased two completely different sets of armor levels 6/7, one Mighty/power the other Precise/precision. I then slotted in +10 power upgrades in the former and +10 precision upgrades in the latter.

I also got two staffs, one Mighty and one Precise. With all my Mighty stuff equipped I have a Power of 189, a Crit Chance of 13.4%, and a Crit Damage of 151.3%. And with all my Precise stuff equipped I have a Power of 119, a Crit Chance of 45.42%, and a Crit Damage of 151.3%

Which sets yields better numbers? I tried doing some limited testing in the world, but I wasn’t sure either set up was better than the other. Is there a test server or danger room or some way in GW2 to run effectiveness testing against dummies or something?

For best effectiveness, how do I balance gearing for Power vs Precision?