Popular/fun WvW builds/armour?

in Elementalist

Posted by: Bryzy.2719

Bryzy.2719

I’m new to eles and just wondered how some of you roll in WvW. Traits? Gear? Skills? Advice appreciated!

Also does anyone ever do like ‘kamikaze’ type moves in zergs? like Ride the lightning into enemy zerg then Arcane blasts etc with invulnerability? Just a thought.

in Elementalist

Posted by: Navzar.2938

Navzar.2938

The only reasons you’d do Kamikaze type things are either if it’s right outside your gate so you can vapor form back into the tower/keep or if you’re going to destroy an important siege weapon.

As for builds, you’ll always want at least 15 in water for the condition removal and heal, although going all the way to 30 is pretty good as well since it provides nice support for groups and because conditions are popular these days. Always go at least 10 in arcana for elemental attunment.

When it comes to zergs a staff is a good choice, so put at least 20 into arcana for elemental attunement and blasting staff. 30 in arcana also lets you use dodge in earth as a finisher.

When it comes to smaller groups, you can pretty much use any pvp build fairly well provided that it isn’t centered around bunkering to hold a point. Also, other weapon sets are usually better than staff.
For d/d you’ll want 10 in air for zephyr’s boon. 10 in earth for stone splinters can be pretty good as well. 30 in water can aura share.

Overall, the generic 0/10/0/30/30 works pretty well, since it’s good, hardy and flexible enough to use with all weapons.

For gear I use a mix of soldiers armor with +boon duration runes and a mix of knights/berserker trinkets.

For utility, defensive and aoes work well. So any cantrips, especially mist form or armor of earth. For aoes, frost bow, glyph of storms work fairly well. For staff arcane wave is good for self combos.