lightning flash Vs Blink

lightning flash Vs Blink

in Elementalist

Posted by: emilejuggernaut.1864

emilejuggernaut.1864

Why is lightning flash on a 10 second longer cooldown costs 5 skill points more without it being a stun breaker like blink is?
Also blink benefits from I in dueling to increase range and III in chaos to reduce cooldown. And we get regen and might and cooldown reduction on cantrip it just feels a little strange? I’m new to ele so if i am missing something or being ignorant let me know. But i found the stun breaker on blink on my mesmer good for WvW in getting out of zergs to heal.
If you take the reduced by 20% for each you get 32 second cooldown vs a 24 with a stun breaker i know lightning gives damage but i don’t feel like its equal with the 300 extra range on mesmer blink also.

lightning flash Vs Blink

in Elementalist

Posted by: Crujiente.8612

Crujiente.8612

It used to be a stunbreaker. ANet felt that cantrip builds were overpowered and also wanted to reduce our reliance on cantrips in general, so they spread the stunbreakers around to other utility skills. They also upped the damage Lightning Flash does.

From what I’ve seen, a lot of Elementalists still prefer to use cantrips in general, including Lightning Flash, so I don’t know about that change really affecting much.

toast

lightning flash Vs Blink

in Elementalist

Posted by: DanteZero.9736

DanteZero.9736

Something I noticed is that the nerfing cantrips didn’t stop them from being widely used because they offer survivability and much better utility than most glyphs, signets, and arcane skills.

Seriously, how is glyph of elemental power, which provides us a passive buff that causes conditions on attacks, fit in as a stunbreaker? Most of our stunbreakers are skills that provide some sort of defensive benefit E.G signet of air causes AoE blind (which is still pitiful imo) and arcane shield provides three blocked attacks over five seconds.