Are pistols useful in PvE?

in Engineer

Posted by: Rutee.1058

Rutee.1058

I’m new to engie (And to a lesser extent, the game in general), and always play Engie with my lovely wife, and she’s on her warrior. For the first… well, noticeable while, I used dual pistols, but always felt I wasn’t contributing to open world content. A level range of somewhere or other gave me no condition damage, so I switched to Rifles and Power, temporarily, to find that, holy jesus, I could actually hurt things in the time span before they died. I was perfectly okay with my conditions in AC Story, but that’s not an object-heavy dungeon, so there’s that.

So I mean, I dunno, I did like the hell out of the Elixir Gun, but the pistols themselves felt pretty meaningless. And I could just use the Elixir Gun anyway (though I’m currently considering two turrets and the tool kit). How did other folks feel about pistols in PvE?

in Engineer

Posted by: WannabeHero.5489

WannabeHero.5489

The best part about pistols in pve is that you can use a shield with them.

Turrets are pretty subpar at the moment so definitely stay away from them for now. The next patch might make the good, but who knows.

Try a static discharge build, take the static discharge trait, then go med kit, rifle turret, battering ram, rocket turret and supply drop. The idea is you just spam toolkit skills for static shots. Works best with a rifle and Berserker gear.

in Engineer

Posted by: Kodiak.4213

Kodiak.4213

I actually JUST posted a pistol/shield build: https://forum-en.gw2archive.eu/forum/professions/engineer/Pistol-Shield-HGH-zerker/first#post3004415

It focuses on building some might with HGH and doing as much damage with the pistol as possible. A lot of peeps don’t like pistol in PvE, but I don’t base what I play on the opinions of others unless it is a class i’m totally unfamiliar with.

in Engineer

Rutee.1058