Grenade/Bomb Kit optional?

in Engineer

Posted by: ThiBash.5634

ThiBash.5634

Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not posting this to troll. I’m rather new to engineer and I would like to know wheter it is possible to make a viable (power) build without using either Grenade Kit or Bomb Kit.

Specifically I’m looking for a build for my Asuran engineer that has an magitech feel. Does anyone have any tips for such a build?

If you can read this then it is proof that ArenaNet’s moderators just, kind and fair.

in Engineer

Posted by: Carpboy.7145

Carpboy.7145

HGH rifle? Or SD?

The Use of the Word ‘Cheese’
Lyss The Shadow
Legendary Champion of DB [EDGE]

in Engineer

Posted by: Yamsandjams.3267

Yamsandjams.3267

What do you want to use the build for? If you’re looking for something in particular, it might help with some suggestions.

The short answer to your question is that you can build viable power builds without either of those kits.

Here’s a fairly typical static discharge (SD) burst build: http://gw2skills.net/editor/?vcAQFAUlsTptrlcxmKseNSM6Bp78mB9wu51vfKQXA-z0xAYrgQUCCRAM5VEN2ibR0Y11YKXioaSBExYA-w

The way to use this build is to try and CC your opponent with something like overcharged shot or net shot, and then use your toolbelt skills to unleash a lot of damage on the opponent through static discharge, as well as comboing into your high damage rifle skills. You can stack a nice bit of vulnerability with this, so it helps boost your damage quite a bit.

This one is a glass canon, so it can die quickly. I’d say it probably takes a bit more skill than your average build because you can’t take a lot of punishment and have to be very particular about when to use some skills so that you don’t waste things. It’s very much a kill or be killed scenario. Some people like putting the 10 from explosives into alchemy or inventions for a different trait, but I found the accelerant packed turrets to be useful as a “get off me” CC.