How do equipped weapons affect kits?

in Engineer

Posted by: ArcticWillow.2758

ArcticWillow.2758

Q:

Hello!

I’m a relatively new engineer, and even though I looked quite a few pages back I didn’t find anything that seemed to address my question. How do equipped weapons affect kits?

- Is there a difference between having a rare rifle and an exotic rifle after I equip a kit (does the rarity level of the equipped weapon affect the damage or other effeciveness of the kit)?

- Sigils will affect kits right? A rifle carries one sigil, but two pistols or a pistol and a shield carry two. Do both sigils affect the kit?

Thanks!

in Engineer

Posted by: BardaTheHobo.9752

BardaTheHobo.9752

A:

1) The weapon damage difference from rare to exotic will not affect the kits damage, however the stats (vitality, precision, etc.) will be different between a rare and a exotic and those stats stay.
2) Yes both sigils will work, also the sigils like + 3 stacks of might on weapon swap will work with swapping from weapon to kit as well.

Edit:
Here are the two patch notes from january talking about it:

• Weapons now continue to grant bonus stats while bundles are equipped.
  • Bundles from player skills (engineer kits, elementalist conjured weapons, warrior banners) now have base damage that is consistent with the highest rarity weapons available at the level of the player.
Dextarr Thunderfuse – Charr Engineer
Rragar Ragehammer – Charr Warrior
Achilles Adrastos – Human Warrior

(edited by BardaTheHobo.9752)

in Engineer

Posted by: ArcticWillow.2758

ArcticWillow.2758

Excellent, thanks! I knew I remembered something in patch notes, but I couldn’t find it.

That second patch note is confusing. I first read it as kits would have the best base damage available to my character (based on rarity of equipped weapon) but it’s actually saying that it’s the best base damage available to ANY character at that level(so not based on equipped weapon). I’m not sure I’m explaining that well.