PLEASE advise an Engineer just starting out

in Engineer

Posted by: fourhim.3584

fourhim.3584

Hi guys,

I’m still very new to the game and I wanted to play an Engineer as soon as I saw several of them in-game using their unique gadgets. I just hit level 11 last night, but my first few levels were quie frustrating compared to the super easy Guardian, Warrior and Ranger. Even Necro has been much easier for me than Engineer.

I really want Flamethrower to be my default PVE weapon. I am EXTREMELY frustrated at the lack of auto-attack on Grenades and Bombs, so I want to steer clear of those even thought they may do more damage.

My problem with flamethrower though is that enemies still get close enough to pound on me a while before they finally die. So I guess I want step by step instructions on how to safely/efficiently use Flamethrower at level 11. I put my first trait point into Firearms btw.

What I am using right now are 2 Malign Pistols with Sigils of Agony? (the one that accumulates +5 condition damage). This seemed best because of such things as bleeding/poison/burning that pistols + FT creates. But it seems that they are NOT adding 125 condition damage with 25 stacks at this level. Are these “scaled” in some way at lower levels? If so, where is a link to what levels they will do more damage at? At this level should I use sigils of bloodlust instead, and do those affect the flamethrower damage?

So should I start with pistols, let them get close, use blowtorch, drop glue puddle, then pull out the flamethrower (since thy’re hopefully burning by this point). Should I use the tool belt ability that makes my next 3 attacks cause burning on the very first attack?

What stat should I be looking for in gear to kill things the quickest? Power, Condition Damage, or Precision?

Lastly, what other abilities compliment flamethrower the best? I am Charr, so I have had some success with Schrapnel Mine (causes cripple, which is nice), and also Rifle Turrets.