Why to choose Engineer over Elementalist?

in Engineer

Posted by: The Baws.5164

The Baws.5164

Hey everyone,

It seems that in the game as a whole, Elementalist seems to offer more group support due to combo fields, blast finishers, high DPS, conjure weapons etc., and yet I’m trying to find reasons to main Engineer. So could you guys give me some reasons? I’m a novice Engineer at best and so would appreciate some input as to what they are stronger at than Elementalist.

Thanks.

Immersed in Blood [TEA]
Drunken Alliance [DKAL]
Piken Square [EU]

in Engineer

Posted by: Chaith.8256

Chaith.8256

High-er dps, better control. Or the option to run a successful condition build.

The Ele is much more inflexible if you’re at a competitive enough level to care about learning the stronger profession choice.

Forum Lord Chaith
Twitch.tv/chaithh
New Twitter: @chaithhh

in Engineer

Posted by: Creld.8702

Creld.8702

So, in pve, it’s just min maxing or personal preference. Engineer can bring almost everything an ele brings (kitten static fields) along with stealth. They have minor differences, with eles being better on certain dungeons with their aoe and engineer bringing perma 25 vulnerability.

In pvp, engineer has more competitive builds. Hybrid, condition, and turret are all strong currently, whereas ele has hybrid and a very glassy burst. Engineer has more tanky builds while ele will see a lot of highs and lows in their health. Elementalist has more viable heals, but engineer’s healing turret is extremely powerful.

Past that, which do you like the look of better? Light armor or medium? What ranges do you want to play? Engineer is best at medium range, usually sitting outside melee but within about 600. Ele can play in much more space effectively. Engineer has higher base health and armor as well.