new engineer! please enlighten me.

in Engineer

Posted by: plasmacutter.2709

plasmacutter.2709

I’ve spent some time playing ele and mesmer.

I like mesmer because its a funky class.

I like D/D ele because it’s the most unique playstyle i’ve seen in a while, but D/D is the ONLY build that ele has that’s this funky.

I started playing eng and am intrigued by the toolkit i’m seeing so far.

I’d love to see some feedback from some vets on the niches this profession has – and the builds most commonly used to fill those niches.

please no downer-posting. I know people consider eng “screwed” and “weak”, but I’ve always been an expert at making very tasty margaritas from lemons in other games, and enjoy that challenge.

in Engineer

Posted by: JohnDied.3476

JohnDied.3476

What I can suggest is to try different kits out and see which ones you like. We have the tank cat build you can look up if you wan’t to really annoy people in WvW, there is the flamethrower might stacking build if you’re looking for something tanky, explosives builds give a lot of maneuverability, and we have some pistol condition builds.

One thing I find funny on my server is that I never see two engineers with the same build, although that might be because I hardly see engineers around

The way you describe yourself I’ll take a guess and say that you probably don’t want to stick to a role like glass-cannon/support/bunker. Look at the traitlines, see that there are synergies between flamethrower and elixirgun, between bomb kit and grenade kit, rifle and elixirs. It also helps to know what aspect of Gw2 you plan to use the engineer on the most, as this would change the kind of load-outs you use as well.

in Engineer

plasmacutter.2709

“The way you describe yourself I’ll take a guess and say that you probably don’t want to stick to a role like glass-cannon/support/bunker.”

Very true.