Guardian DPS/Support (more PVP less PVE)

in Guardian

Posted by: Silfacris.2465

Silfacris.2465

Hi all,

I started playing this game two weeks ago and guardian is my first character. I will soon be lvl 80, and I focus on playing with friends(thief/engineer, ranger/guardian, elementalist) in both PVE and PVP (now more PVE, later PVP/WVW). I was thinking about being suport/DPS guardian, I want to give my teammates some buffs and heals, clear their conditions, while being able to inflict some damage (I know I wont be as effective as pure DPS build, but more damage is always welcome).

I’ve been reading guides and looking at some builds, and this is something with which i came up:
http://gw2skills.net/editor/?vVMQNAseSl8Ah+dYpQwWIQQEHBEVOBfwawGAPwbiXhUIHA-TxREwAOViB4JAwRfQUlGrU/JxpAYpyAA-e
Things that caught my eye in those specializations: protective reviver, pure of voice(since all my utilities are shouts), almost all radiance tree (to help me get fury for increased DPS), inspired virtue, absolute resolution, battle presence.

Since my utilities are support focused, I thought gearing in berserker gear will help me increase my DPS. But I know, going pure berserk will make me really squishy, so I thought maybe switch some of my gear to something that gives vitality/toughness bonuses(like marauder/soldier/valkyrie)? Maybe weapons and shield? Or also acessories? I can’t gauge though how much of power/precision/ferocity I can sacrifice for toughness/vitality to make sense and be tougher whilist not loosing too much of DPS.

As for my main weapon I think sword and shield will be quite effective, secondary weapon in PVe I thing greatsword, PVP/WVW hammer will be better since it has more crowd control.

I’m new player and I will be very grateful for any tips, does my build make sense? Or maybe I should do some minor or major changes? Also tips on choosing gear prefixes will be very welcome

(edited by Silfacris.2465)

in Guardian

Posted by: Azoqu.8917

Azoqu.8917