I am truly confused about the retaliation nerf. Why so?

in Guardian

Posted by: IV Endu.8920

IV Endu.8920

As a boon, I find retaliation invaluable and I find absolutely no reason to change any of the ways we receive it through skills/traits.

But of course, I am no expert in “game balance” so please forgive my noobness for asking.

in Guardian

Posted by: Tobeyeus.9376

Tobeyeus.9376

ArenaNet has now decided that Retaliation should be used as a counter to Multi-hit attacks not something that is used all the time for things like auto-attacks or 1 hit skills. So basically now if you have someone using a Multi-hit attack you pop Retaliation re-actively not preemptively.

This will hurt tank/support Guardians since this was their means of damage and countering high Crit enemies with Multi-hit attacks. The enemies won’t kill themselves from from their combined auto-attacks and Multi-hit skills now.

So basically it is another buff for Crit builds and another nerf for everyone else. It is a bigger nerf for Guardians since our health pool is smaller and their Toughness while combined with Protection doesn’t mean much when an enemy has a 70%+ chance to critically hit 6-9 times in 2 seconds with a Multi-hit attack.

in Guardian

Posted by: Sylosi.6503

Sylosi.6503

How about in a game that is allegedly targeting skilled PvP, a boon that can be kept up a ridiculous amount of time that passively reflects damage back, is skilless.

And that perhaps if that in a game that is allegedly targeting balanced PvP, that having a certain class be far in the way the best point defender, when all the tPvP maps are based on point control is unbalanced, so adjustment was needed.

(edited by Sylosi.6503)

in Guardian

IV Endu.8920

@Tobeyeus

I couldn’t agree more. You’ve put my exact thoughts into sensible words.

Is there anybody out there that can justify ANET’s actions? Or did they just decide to kitten us over because it’s funny?

in Guardian

Posted by: Rainydays.5368