new to game and having issues living

in Guardian

Posted by: kildaian.9346

kildaian.9346

Hi I am new to gw2 and chose guardian as my first go and am only 10 at the moment but i tend to die…alot. Single mobs my level tend to get me pretty low on health, and if i get more than one, im done for. Im currently using a great sword, and have mace/shield for second. I guess im not doing something right and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance
Kild

in Guardian

Posted by: Kain Francois.4328

Kain Francois.4328

Are you dodging? Are you using your heal?

Guardians are quite sturdy at level 80. Maybe your armor is not up to level? The way guild wars 2 works is the lower your armor compared to your level, the worse you are downscaled.

in Guardian

kildaian.9346

im trying to remember to dodge, guess learning when to dodge is the thing here. I havent gotten much as far as armor upgrades yet…will look for some this weekend

in Guardian

Posted by: Yramrag.3026

Yramrag.3026

Dodging is an important mechanism in GW2. You will need to learn how to time your dodge and manage your endurance. You also have 2 kinds of heal-in-demand – the hotkey #6 and your virtue of resolve – use them.

Don’t worry about dying often at lower levels while learning to play the profession.

in Guardian

kildaian.9346

ty guys, should i stick with the weapons im using for the most part?

in Guardian

Posted by: Kain Francois.4328

Kain Francois.4328

Dodge is the key to Guild Wars 2. Later in game there are foes who can OHKO you, such as Subject Alpha, so dodging is very important.

Guardians are also the sturdiest class at level 80. While you have high-recharge main heals, you also have access to skills which heal you through other means, such as traiting your symbols to heal, or traiting yourself to heal each time you apply a boon to allies. There’s even a trait to heal you AND your team each time you dodge!