support guardian build/armor help needed

in Guardian

Posted by: Deitus.6053

Deitus.6053

greetings.

i’ve been playing my guardian for quite a while now, and i think i’m getting close to the time when i can finally start getting some ascended armor to finish him out. i’m fairly new to the concept, however, so i figure i’d come here to ask what armor/weapons/accessories i should get. i’ll try to explain my playstyle and goals here to help out:

-full support
-not damage oriented, just keeping myself and the group alive (group comes before me, however)
-“tanky” as far as the game would let me be, keep enemy’s attention while the rest of the group focuses dps
-shout oriented, with pure of voice, superior aria, etc
-mainly pve, though recently i’ve been getting into wvw…is there a set with a happy medium i could craft/acquire?

this is my current build:
http://en.gw2skills.net/editor/?fVIQNAW5el8ApWotCxUI0ENRCBl9+zx/x+DhIFXFAA-e
(the main point of this thread is for the armor advice, as i’ve had good results with this build, but i’m always happy to get advice on adjustments i could make to fit my intended role/playstyle better)

i’m currently wearing a full cleric’s exotic armor set, though i’ve heard that soldier’s would be a good choice too. both seem like good choices, but i have it on good advice that i would miss the healing i would get if i went with soldier’s rather than clerics.

one final note is that i would HIGHLY prefer to not buy the armor/accessories wholesale from the marketplace; laurel vendors and other NPC merchants are fine, but i plan to craft as much of this as i can myself, even if it does take longer or is more difficult.

with the above information in mind, what would the community at large suggest i do? please let me know your opinion, and if any extra information is needed, i would be more than happy to supply it.