How to counter? Prismatic Understanding

in Mesmer

Posted by: Carighan.6758

Carighan.6758

You’re wrong on this point.

Seriously? I only ever did Blackwater, but friends which do power or hybrid PU always lamented that the condition classes tend to be meh because they load you up from max-range and keep heckling you that way.

The strength of heart to face oneself has been made manifest. The persona Carighan has appeared.

in Mesmer

Posted by: Lys.8621

Lys.8621

Go take your “immortal” PU mesmer to PvP and you’ll discover your mortality right quick.

I did 80% of my tests in open PvP dueling servers.

However! I’m glad to have some news after a week I ask opinion around.
Yesterday I got killed 3 times of 3 tries from a shortbow / sword+dagger thief in 1vs1 PvP situation. I really would like to have recorded that cause I’m kind of new to thieves and so I know I can’t explain his gameplay and build nicely.
But I noticed these (in order of importance in our fights, IMHO):
1) 70/80% of the time he was ranged from me and my illusions, my lack in mobilty made the burst very hard for me and illusions moving is slow too, so bleeding couldn’t stack properly.
2) He had A LOT of dodge. Not only thanks to endurance but mainly from initiative (weapons skills). My Phantasmal Duelists shots were almost always evaded, and same for the sword Leap. This means very low chances of direct damage burst.
3) Ha had a lot of boon steal thanks to Larcenous Strike (sword skill 2).
4) As I use Signet of the Eather, Poison sucks.
5) Getting both dazed and immobilized sucks. I had Mantra Of Resolve in all 3 fights tho, probably I paniced a bit and used it wrong.
6) He had some cond remover – not many. But when I got him to enough conditions stacking, he was able to “run away” (using stealth – as I do – without reset fight) and re-engage with a great timing.
7) He didn’t cared too much about evading my Torment.