Leveling tips

Leveling tips

in Mesmer

Posted by: jamesscalise.2591

jamesscalise.2591

Hi! I’m new to GW2 (but not mmo’s) and I rolled a mesmer, and I would love if two particular questions could be answered:

1. What’s the best weapon combo? I’m currently using greatsword and pulling then switching to sword/pistol up close, though I heard gsword’s phantasm is bugged. Is it still relatively viable?

2. What’s an easy way to make ten silver? I can’t get past 4 and I was my skill book

Thank you!

Leveling tips

in Mesmer

Posted by: Richard Nixon.6573

Richard Nixon.6573

1. There is no “best” weapon combo, but most of the mesmer’s weapons are certainly good. The mainhand sword is a really good choice though. Pistol is good too, but its really up to you whether you prefer to have a ranged phantasm or the offhand sword’s melee phantasm. Personal choice really, there won’t be much difference in damage before you hit 80.

Try experimenting with the staff though (by dropping the GS for now, at least until the phantasm gets fixed). The staff is a wonderful weapon, its sooooo good for survival. You might end up getting slower kills because you don’t have as much dps as the GS, but you won’t die nearly as often, which brings us to point two…

2. Don’t die. Seriously, armor repairs is the silliest thing to spend your money on. Avoid death at all costs until you have disposable income.

Don’t waypoint everywhere. When you can, teleport to either WvW or the Heart of the Mists. Both of these places contain a portal to Lions Arch, which has Asuran gates to nearly everywhere in the world. Use LA as your traveling “hub” as much as possible to cut down on traveling costs.

Do the dailies- each daily gives you 5s.

Sell all the junk items you get as loot to the merchant.

Doing heart “quests” will give you some money. The higher level the area, the more it gives.

Do dynamic events when you stumble on them. Even bronze participation will give you a cash reward.