Looking for build advice - fresh 80

in Mesmer

Posted by: kyrnik.7352

kyrnik.7352

I’m relatively new to GW2 but a long time MMO player dating back to the vanilla Everquest days. Unfortunately, work/life balance dictates my play time and so I decided to boost my Mesmer to 80 to accelerate progress.

Since I now have Chronomancer unlocked, I need to start acquiring hero points to unlock additional skills. Looking for some advice on a build and items that can help me on my way. I consider myself a casual player and have no immediate intention to push towards end-game raiding. I do see myself heading towards pugs and casual pvp as I develop comfort with the build.

I looked at a few build sites but most require you to have Chronomancer skills that I do not have yet, nor do I have the right gear. I’m pretty much just using the items that were given when my Mesmer was boosted.

in Mesmer

kyrnik.7352

So after much reading I decided to start with the condition shatter build. I picked up a berserker scepter and torch to start. I still have the GS, sword and pistol that I received from the boost. Was hoping to get some advice on gear. Does full berserker gear make sense or should I look for something else?

I do have the soldier gear but the stats are not inline with the build so dmg output is low. Also, would it be recommended to go with a staff instead of the GS?

in Mesmer

Posted by: flog.3485

flog.3485

Personally I would go sword/focus and greatsword in berserker. And for your traitlines, domi/dueling/inspiration. You can trait your focus to reflect projectiles (which can be quite handy with lower cooldowns along with pulls) and inspiration utility skills improved in grandmaster trait to have another source of reflection with longer duration and on demand superspeed.

in Mesmer

kyrnik.7352