Returned to game, trying Mesmer, it's both...

in Mesmer

Posted by: patemma.3674

patemma.3674

…REALLY difficult and VERY FORGIVING. I had no idea when I rolled a new toon (only my second in game as i am VERY VERY new to the game) that there were balance issues with the Mesmer. I’m finding myself both very challenged and confused at times (this isn’t a bad thing per se but I do find myself lost on some of the skills) and also think that at times I’m getting away with a crap-ton of mistakes.

Anyhow, I’m rolling with a staff (mainly…love the ranged AoE) and a sword/pistol combo…

Started the thread to simply ask…Is the build completely open ended in terms of how you want to approach it? I chose it upon return because I wanted the challenge and didn’t want things to feel grindy….well, challenging indeed.

Take care,
pat!

There is nothing better than good beer and nothing worse than bad beer…

in Mesmer

Posted by: Iavra.8510

Iavra.8510

You should mention what gamemode(s) you are playing.

in Mesmer

patemma.3674

Ahr sry Lavra…very good point…right now solely PvE…but as I advance the character, would enjoy PvP or WvW, … so eventually looking at a PvX build I suppose

thx!

in Mesmer

Posted by: tobascodagama.2961

tobascodagama.2961

Staff is great for open world PvE. Really survivable, especially with Chaotic Dampening. I spent most of my leveling time with GS/Staff. You can easily kite around most open world mobs with that weapon set, and fighting outnumbered is even possible.

Using Sword/Pistol is probably good practice for endgame, though. You should spend a lot of time working on your Blurred Frenzy timing. Use it to evade telegraph attacks that you otherwise would have dodged.

Amberley Avalen – Charr Mesmer
Tanya Larina – Human Thief
Finchy Whyte – Sylvari Ranger

in Mesmer

Posted by: AlphatheWhite.9351

AlphatheWhite.9351

The only thing I can say about build direction as you level is to not try a condition build until you are lvl 80.