Signet of illusions in pvp

in Mesmer

Posted by: eldenbri.1059

eldenbri.1059

I’m still pretty new to pvp (maybe 100 ranked games), but this build has been working reasonably well up to low-sapphire where I am now.

http://en.gw2skills.net/editor/?vhAQNAreWnknBlphVoBeoBEgilnj6sACgDreQP0FFdxynDA-TJxHwACOFAA3f4YZAAPBAA

I basically never see other mesmers running signet of illusions. I understand how portal can be much more powerful supporting teams and perhaps condi chrono is fairly rare already. Is there any other reason that people don’t use this signet?

In this build, signet of illusions feels like it gives a tremendous amount of benefit. The passive is quite nice for keeping illusions up when there’s AoE. And with the defender phantasm from Mental Defense and retaliation from Persisting Images, it provides a nice damage sponge and can actually help a bit with dps (I’ve seen 1000 damage in the logs from retaliation when all the hits get shared with iDefender).

But the active part is the thing that I really like. It takes 1.25 seconds to cast (a bit faster if I’m in scepter/shield with Malicious Sorcery) and it has a long cooldown. But casting it gives a minimum of four shatters which means:
- about 3500 healing
- four, single-condi clears
- 3 seconds of alacrity
- 1 second invuln
- 1 daze
- 5 stacks of confusion
- 4 stacks of torment

Granted, at any given point, some shatter is likely to be almost available, so maybe it only saves you 6 seconds on getting Mind Wrack back. But I tend to use this when I’ve over-committed and then I get focused. If I can get this signet cast, I can usually survive and sometimes down an opponent who’s pressing to finish me off.

Anyone else using this signet?

in Mesmer

Posted by: Windwalker.7421

Windwalker.7421