When in PvE to use non-Mind Wrack shatters?

in Mesmer

Posted by: voidvector.2780

voidvector.2780

I am fairly new to mesmer in GW2 (coming from ele as main). So far I am still leveling my mesmer.

When do I use shatters other than “Mind Wrack” in PvE?

I can see the use of Cry of Frustration, Diversion, and Distortion in PvP. However, I have yet to find them useful in PvE.

in Mesmer

Posted by: Surbrus.6942

Surbrus.6942

I use distortion all the time for avoiding hits while rezzing party members. Diversion is a good second option (interrupt the attack). As a zerker Mesmer I rarely use Cry of Frustration, for obvious purposes, but when I’m in my condition damage gear I’ll use it for a confusion bomb. However confusion is generally an absolutely terrible condition for PvE, as the enemies attack so slow, you might not even get a single “hit” of confusion.. unless you are using it as a gimmick, like using it just before Subject Alpha does his big AoE attack for a truckload of damage.

Other uses of Diversion and Distortion in PvE would just be when you just want another interrupt or a little extra time of invuln. When soloing champions as a zerker Mesmer, I’ll use them a whole lot (because you need can really use every tool you have when challenging yourself like that). Diversion is also useful for knocking off charges of Defiant.

In short, unless you are picking up other people who got downed in nasty places, you won’t have to use these skills in normal play. However you should, if anything to just practice.

Note: Diversion and Distortion are orders of magnitude better when you have the Illusionary Persona trait (Grandmaster Illusions).

in Mesmer

Posted by: Elric of Grans.7684

Elric of Grans.7684

I am still a fairly new Mesmer player, but I have found uses for them all.