Advice needed for dagger/melee Necro

in Necromancer

Posted by: Gaudium.9807

Gaudium.9807

Hello Everyone,

im new to the necro and have a little question. Has anyone a good build for a melee Necro focusing on crit and power? Sure he need some survivability too.

I m going to play solo PvE and have no really clue which skills, weaponsets an traits synergize well with each other for facing the enemy right in front. I will need it mainly for leveling.

I already thought about something like playing Dagger/Dagger with power and precision and Wells for AOE if im facing multiple foes.

Or are melee Necros a bad choice after all and you guys think that i should play something else?

Thank you very much in advance

in Necromancer

Posted by: Flumek.9043

Flumek.9043

https://forum-en.gw2archive.eu/forum/professions/necromancer/Necromancer-tutorials/first

i can tell u that pve necro is very fun. as nemesis showed u can do great melee damage.
But for wvw or pvp, power necro is just not that strong. in wvw u need range (staff,scepter), and in spvp its 10-20% weaker. a nice challange to play, just dont expect any great results

PvP guild [YUM] -apply- (EU) http://muffinspvp.shivtr.com/

in Necromancer

Posted by: lettucemode.3789

lettucemode.3789

Hey Gaudium,

The necro power build is based around stacking lots of vulnerability on your targets. Your mainhand weapons will be Axe, Dagger, or Staff, and your offhand weapons will be Focus or Warhorn. You could use dagger offhand if you wanted to, however it is more focused on conditions. I think Dagger/Focus + Staff would be the best combination for leveling. But feel free to try them all out and see which ones you like best, that’s the most important thing.

For utilities, use Spectral Wall (make the mobs run through it a few times for easy 20 stacks of vulnerability), Well of Suffering, and something else, doesn’t really matter which, maybe Blood is Power for the huge might stack.