Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: krippler.9826

krippler.9826

I wanted to see if any of you can tell why this skill went on an interrupted cooldown in this video. The other guy dodges, but that shouldn’t cause an interrupt. And I have a TON of issues getting this particular skill to work, so I would like to know why this happens.

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: Redball.7236

Redball.7236

You weren’t facing him, if you use a skill while the opponent is behind or far enough to the side (think of a 90 degree angle from straight ahead to the right or left, if they’re past that point), it won’t activate and go on 4s CD.

You were immobilized while facing to the left, and used the skill when the opponent was around to the right.

Cassius Snowstorm – Engineer
Tycho Snowpaw – Guardian
Gandara – [WvW]

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: krippler.9826

krippler.9826

I don’t think that is it. I had a friend help me test this out. We tried a bunch of things, but I could not make the skill go onto an interrupted cooldown. And despite what the wiki says, immobilize doesn’t prevent me from turning when I try to use a skill, including my auto-attack. Take a look at this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQq3NIbWcaQ&feature=youtu.be. He dodges behind me, I activate Deathly Swarm, and I turn and fire the projectile. He in turn becomes immobilized from the transfer.

I think this particular skill just bugs out on me A LOT. I am wondering if others experience the same thing.

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: Battletorn.4102

Battletorn.4102

If you hold right click while casting (which points your body in a direction), then you will not auto-turn to your target and it will fail. However, in the case of the video it looks like a minute interruption or the spell was cancelled while casting. Is it possible that a dodge attempt while immobilized caused it to cancel the spell? It is unclear. I am not sure what happened.

www.WvWStrategy.net Get loot bags.

[ONE] Fight as One http://fightasone.enjin.com

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: manveruppd.7601

manveruppd.7601

I also have problems getting that skill to work – it’s the main reason I still rely on staff! I don’t know why but it seems to go on interrupt cd much more often than other skills. Even Epidemic with its long cast time, which makes it easy for targets to leave your front arc during its cast!

However, in this occasion Redball might be right: I rewatched the video frame-by-frame, and the moment you get immobilised you’re facing the warrior who’s standing right next to the tip of the A on the floor. Then he moves off to the corner (or gets launched there by your teammate?) and immeidately after that you cast Deathly Swarm. Since you should still be facing the tip of the A the warrior should be just out of your LOS there.

I know, it’s annoying, and particularly since some skills don’t even need LOS…

A bad necromancer always blames the corpse.

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: Rennoko.5731

Rennoko.5731

You weren’t facing him, if you use a skill while the opponent is behind or far enough to the side (think of a 90 degree angle from straight ahead to the right or left, if they’re past that point), it won’t activate and go on 4s CD.

You were immobilized while facing to the left, and used the skill when the opponent was around to the right.

This is the answer. You were immob facing the point and he was in the corner of the far side of your screen. This is the same reason none of your auto attacks were hitting.

As to your other video where you turn and transfer immobilize… I would love to know how you did that, because dagger 4 never turns for works for me when I get dodge rolled through like that.

I would ask you re-test that with him starting behind you and try it again…. I would bet it won’t work. I think the only reason it worked this time is because he was right in that 180 arc just passing you when you started the cast (so it will succeed), and then the game for whatever reason turned you… Seems more like an oddity than the rule.

I have never been able to get the auto-turn feature of using a skill to work while immoblized

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: krippler.9826

krippler.9826

You weren’t facing him, if you use a skill while the opponent is behind or far enough to the side (think of a 90 degree angle from straight ahead to the right or left, if they’re past that point), it won’t activate and go on 4s CD.

You were immobilized while facing to the left, and used the skill when the opponent was around to the right.

This is the answer. You were immob facing the point and he was in the corner of the far side of your screen. This is the same reason none of your auto attacks were hitting.

As to your other video where you turn and transfer immobilize… I would love to know how you did that, because dagger 4 never turns for works for me when I get dodge rolled through like that.

I would ask you re-test that with him starting behind you and try it again…. I would bet it won’t work. I think the only reason it worked this time is because he was right in that 180 arc just passing you when you started the cast (so it will succeed), and then the game for whatever reason turned you… Seems more like an oddity than the rule.

I have never been able to get the auto-turn feature of using a skill to work while immoblized

Immobilized from behind, I can still fire the skill and turn towards my attacker:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Sqjrr2MFWsI

We tried a lot of different combinations and could not find anything that put the skill on an interrupted cooldown. Also, my auto-attack DOES let me turn and attack while immobilized as well.

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: Rennoko.5731

Rennoko.5731

I can tell you a combination that puts the skill on cooldown… hold the right strafe key while hitting your deathly swarm while immoblized, and you won’t turn. At least I don’t auto-turn in that case, and the skill goes on the 3ish second cooldown.

I have never been able to turn using just auto attack while in immobilize, but perhaps it has always been because I was trying to strafe at the same time…. This is pretty compelling for me to look into this more.

I never trust the wiki, but from there: Immobilized is a condition that prevents movement, turning, and dodging.

Try holding strafe and hit deathly swarm, I bet it goes on CD.

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: manveruppd.7601

manveruppd.7601

Immobilized from behind, I can still fire the skill and turn towards my attacker:
http://youtube.com/watch?v=Sqjrr2MFWsI

We tried a lot of different combinations and could not find anything that put the skill on an interrupted cooldown. Also, my auto-attack DOES let me turn and attack while immobilized as well.

Does this only work if the target is 180 degrees behind you? Or do you also turn when he’s off to the side?

A bad necromancer always blames the corpse.

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: krippler.9826

krippler.9826

I think I know how this works. If you are facing away from your target, are moving in any direction, and then use a directional skill, it will put the skill on interrupt cooldown (auto-attacks will simply not do anything). If you are standing still, you will turn and fire the skill. It has the same behavior when immobilized. So if you do get immobilized, keep your hands off the movement keys and you can continue to fire at your target in any direction. That is probably a bug, but it works.

Deathly Swarm Interrupted?

in Necromancer

Posted by: Rennoko.5731

Rennoko.5731

I think I know how this works. If you are facing away from your target, are moving in any direction, and then use a directional skill, it will put the skill on interrupt cooldown (auto-attacks will simply not do anything). If you are standing still, you will turn and fire the skill. It has the same behavior when immobilized. So if you do get immobilized, keep your hands off the movement keys and you can continue to fire at your target in any direction. That is probably a bug, but it works.

This is if I might say some very game breakingly interesting information… it is a shame this topic won’t get more attention, but being able to use this trick to turn while immoblized is certainly something I will use. I just wish I had known sooner that mashing my strafe key while immobilized was screwing me over.

In reality, you should stop for a split second anytime you cast deathly swarm, and as long as they are in range, it will go to them…. very handy information…. but to know that it ALSO allows a turn while immoblized is something interesting indeed.

Thanks for the information…. and to the above poster…. 180 degrees out makes no difference it seems. You will turn if you mash 4 with your hands off the movement keys, immobilized or not.