Isn't it an easy fix?

Isn't it an easy fix?

in Necromancer

Posted by: Phadde.7362

Phadde.7362

I’m fairly new to the Necromancer profession. While reading up on the profession, I found that the community seems to have accepted that the Necro does support (in practice) really poorly, since it comes of such a huge loss of Dps – A loss that isn’t nearly as big among the other professions. Even the builds that tries to focus on offence seems to be widely considered to, quite clearly be sub-par, since other professions can deal the same amount of damage but still gain party-wide benefits

I’ve quoted one guy that I found on the GW2guru, that has written extensive guides about the profession and who’s opinions seem to be accepted and shared with the rest of the community:

The criticisms on these and the official forums are, unfortunately, pretty well founded. In ideal settings, Necros fail to bring to the party what so many other classes can. Necros have excellent niche builds (Vuln stacking, soft CC out the wazoo), but those things often come “for free” on other classes. For this reason and for this reason ALONE Necro sits in low-tier. If Necro gets some party love, it’ll jump up to top-tier quickly. It’s already there for PvP.

The general consensus is that, since Necros bring near-nothing to the table to help a party they should be left behind. While I agree that this assessment of the Necro’s offerings for a party is accurate, I’m still a proponent of using them in dungeons/fractals if my group’s okay with it. . .

. . .In reality, a full GC Powermancer sits in top-tier when it comes to single target DPS. But because the Necro can ONLY bring single target DPS and no offensive group support, he’s left behind.