New to GW2 - Questions about Necros

in Necromancer

Posted by: clyde price.9278

clyde price.9278

Hi folks. I’m new to the GW2 fold. I started of as guardian up to lvl 19, but I wanted something else as an alt or just a change of pace. Necro sounds interesting. I have my necro up to 6 so I only have a beginners feel for it. Questions I have:

- Is my primary stat power? Or some I try some condition type stats?
- Best weapons for solo PvE leveling?
- Best weapons for WvW and PvP?
- Can i successfully go without pets? I don’t particularly like the way they look. Im not a SC zerg HAHA!
- I know this class is probably least liked as far as PvP/WvW, but what is the state of Necros for those? I hear necro is a selfish or self sufficient character, but I saw some healing and weakening abilities.
- Does the Necro roam well at least solo or with a group of 4?

I’m new, so sorry if my questions seem noob.

in Necromancer

Posted by: Drarnor Kunoram.5180

Drarnor Kunoram.5180

For all professions, your primary stat is whatever you want it to be. You want to pick your skills and stats to synergize with each other. The only exception is Guardians and Condition damage, because they have only one damaging condition .

Best weapons for solo levelling are really anything. Axe (currently, we know it’s getting buffed in the next patch) is our weakest, though.

Best weapons are generally determined by your stat choices. If you go condition damage, you go scepter/dagger (or warhorn) and staff. Power, you have a bit more flexibility. Really, Staff is handy on any build, but it’s not very good as a main weapon IMO.

Easily! In fact, necro minions are probably the most unreliable part of the class. They do make levelling a breeze, though.

Actually, PvP/WvW are our strongest points. WvW currently has what is known as the GWEN meta, and Necros are the “N”