A strange thing happened...

in Ranger

Posted by: Gourry.3951

Gourry.3951

First of all I want to admit that I’ve been a sort of fair weather ranger. My main was ranger in the beta and head start, but I changed to a thief after our Sb nerf. After playing my thief for a couple of weeks I decided that I liked my ranger too much not to play him just because the class was difficult to play.

I started playing my ranger again, a little PVE here and there but mostly WVW. I was playing day before yesterday running to where our zerg was laying siege to Bluebriar and I decided to make a shortcut through Faithleap as we held it at the time. Upon running down the slope to Faith I saw a swarm of blue bodies headed my way. A couple of the people running with me didn’t notice my warning and they kept on and were promptly slaughtered. Another ranger followed me back up the ramp towards the jumping puzzle cave and we waited for the army to pass.

All of the sudden a warrior spun into sight, defeating the other ranger in seconds. I laid into him with my shortbow with no real hope of victory, I just wanted to make him earn the badge.

I dodged and sidestepped, using 3-5 to keep him at range the best I could. My health was dropping steadily and I knew it was only a matter of time. Then a strange thing happened. The warrior spun past me, I hit him again with my arrows and I downed him. Then I proceeded to stomp him. As I resurrected the other ranger he told me, “That was an awesome fight.”

The thing is, it was awesome. I singlehandedly killed that warrior. Granted he was a great sword warrior. The thing is that I was only level 57 when it happened and my opponent was 80. I’m not posting this for a pat on the back or to make the warrior feel bad, I just thought it was a cool event. As to why I wrote it out like I did instead of just getting to the point, I just thought it would be in better taste then lololol I killed a warrior.