Are Rangers Worth It?

Are Rangers Worth It?

in Ranger

Posted by: ScottTheWanderer.4716

ScottTheWanderer.4716

Usually in games I play as an archer, but in this game they don’t seem to be very good. I just started one and it has relatively good damage and evasion (and the pet is great) but I’ve seen a lot of posts saying that a ranger is only good at low levels, because later the pets are underpowered and the utility skills and slot skills become useless. And a lot of posts saythat most of the time rangers aren’t necessarily wanted for grouping for dungeons and whatnot. If this is true, then I don’t really want to continue on with my ranger. So are rangers better now than they were a few months ago (they were pretty weak when I started playing) in terms of PvP, WvW, or PvE? I just don’t want to put a bunch of time into a useless class.

Oh and the update on October 11th… Is that going to boost rangers?
Edit: Spellcheck

Wippo – Asura Elementalist
House of the Steel Dragon – Darkhaven

(edited by ScottTheWanderer.4716)

Are Rangers Worth It?

in Ranger

Posted by: LuRkEr.9462

LuRkEr.9462

Here is the truth.. Rangers are fine other than pets / spirits die insanely quick in PvE. In sPvP they do great with certain builds and in WvW they do pretty good.

Rangers do awesome damage single target but lack in the aoe department unless your going melee.

The rangers really need a pet takes 50% less aoe or something which will help alot.

Many people that play rangers are TERRIBLE and you can usually spot them easily (use bear in dungeon or similar pet…) These people give the low % of good rangers a bad name and therefor sometimes you may be insta-kicked from a group simply for being a ranger upon joining. Play what you enjoy as rangers kick kitten solo but if your a big grouper do it with friends or you may get burned a few times from people not giving your class a chance.

Are Rangers Worth It?

in Ranger

Posted by: swiftpaw.6397

swiftpaw.6397