Dual wielding axes....good or bad?

in Ranger

Posted by: Sosus.4365

Sosus.4365

First off….I’m a GW2 noob. So take my comments as you will.

I really like the ranger because I liked the idea of having pets. I am level 33 so far and have tried different weapon combinations and I really like the dual wielding axes the best. I do not hear them mentioned a lot so I thought I would ask, because there must be a reason they are not used a lot.

I like the AOE effect of the axes auto attack. I like to get up close and put 5 bleeds on mobs with number 2. I like to hit muliple enemies with number 4. and if I get more than 1 mob within melee range then I like to use number 5.

If it is a single mob, then stack bleeds with the axe (2) then alot of the times I switch to my sword/war horn. But for muliple targets nothing beats two axes, imo.

I really dont like the LB or SB, and I really tried to like them, but I guess those are the main weapons a lot of rangers use.

so, is it a good idea to dual wield axes. I ask, because im a noob and guess I would like advice from more experienced rangers.

in Ranger

Posted by: jkctmc.8754

jkctmc.8754

The number 5 attack of offhand axe server multiple purposes, especially if you are traited for Off-hand Training; "Offhand skills have a longer range and 20% quicker recharge. ".

- If you’re fighting a Thief, and they stealth, it can cause a situation where they have to take an extra wide circle around you, to get in a good backstab, or take damage while moving into you, for that backstab. This sets up several stacks of vulnerability too, while they’re being hit, so when they do come out of stealth, you are doing more damage to them.

- This can also be used to flush a Thief out of his Shadow Refuge, as it covers virtually the entire circle.

- Fighting a Pistol/Dagger Thief, this will allow you a reprieve when you need it, as it blocks, and reflects all missile attacks.