Help me not suck in HOT zones with Breakbars

in Ranger

Posted by: Kraggy.4169

Kraggy.4169

Specifically, breakbars.

I don’t play Ranger much at all in group content so I’ve not bothered too much about dealing with these efficiently, clearly the HOT events require some attention here.

I used LB (of course!) and Axe/Horn, so LB4 and Axe3 are my two obvious CC contributors weapon-wise.

For a pet I’m using the Kryta Drakehound for two reasons: first, his F2 skill does Immobilize and is on a 16 sec. CD which makes it sort of spammable, kinda, and he has the Crippling Leap on 16 secs as well.

I’m not good at theorycrafting, frankly numbers bore me, but this is the combination I’m using based on what I think I understand about CCs and Breakbars.

Since I don’t see any other Rangers using this pet and few seem to switch from LB I’m assuming either I’m doing it wrong, or they are.

Anyone have suggestions about what I could change with respect to this aspect of HOT events?

I spec Marks/BM/Nature Magic for the soloing and CBA switching around specs given the UI provides no ‘store and reload’ method. Under BM I spec Beastly Warden so my pet’s F2 also does Taunt which is also a BB CC skill I think.

in Ranger

Posted by: Fluffball.8307

Fluffball.8307

First of all, not all CCs affect the breakbar the same. The “harder” the CC, the more it breaks it. So the chill on your axe does practically nothing, but a daze will do full “damage” to the breakbar. With that said, the immob on your drakehound is substantially worse than the fear on a wolf or daze on a moa in a 1-shot scenario, and that’s usually how bosses work. You get 1 chance to break it, and then a big time where you aren’t able to break it. The non-CC pet you probably want pure damage, so look at bristleback or a lynx.