How to avoid crazy aggro as A/T SB Condition?

in Ranger

Posted by: Fallesafe.5932

Fallesafe.5932

Q:

Hi,

I’m fairly new to the game. And I need some advice on how to play my character better. I’m specced for A/T SB condition damage. And the issue I keep running into is that, in order to drop my big AOE damage abilities, I have to get into meele range and then get out. 70% of the time, that works fine. But if I draw aggro from one or two mobs, I get absolutely rekt in a matter of seconds. And I find it really embarrassing (in groups) to die over and over, and make people waste their time rezzing me again and agian. How can I better avoid this?

My second question is… what kind of rotations do people use to maximize their DPS on this build? The page on metabattle lists a rotation of like 20 items. Do people really use such elaborate rotations?? What I normally do is:

1) F2 with lynx (to let him take aggro)
2) Sharpening stone
3) Throw torch
4) Splitblade
5) Spam ricochet

Run into meele range

6) Bonfire
7) Flame Trap
8) Viper’s nest
9) Entangle
10) Roll back out of meele range and start over when timers refresh

I never even use my short bow, because I’m not sure how to work it in. And I know that’s costing me dps, since my spec rewards me for swapping weapons with bleeding damage.

What is the trick to really playing this class/spec well?? The damage I can do (even with my terrible rotation) is awesome. And I really enjoy the build. But, man I really suck… And I’d like to play better. Thanks.

(edited by Fallesafe.5932)

in Ranger

Posted by: OGDeadHead.8326

OGDeadHead.8326

Where are you playing in order to “get absolutely rekt in a matter of seconds”? I’ve yet to find content in this game that is so punishing as you describe it.

Win10 pro | Xeon 5650 @ 4 GHz | R9 280x toxic | 24 Gig Ram | Process Lasso user

in Ranger

Posted by: Rashagar.8349

Rashagar.8349