I love Greatswords & pets. Is GS Viable?

in Ranger

Posted by: Azione.5913

Azione.5913

Q:

Simple question, but I’m a noob to MMOs, so here I am

I love the Ranger playstyle, and I really like the Greatsword, but I’m afraid I won’t be able to handle other GS players with heavy armor (ie Guardians and Warriors). Is it viable to play Ranger with a Greatsword? If so, what’s a good trait setup/build? Thanks in advance!

in Ranger

Posted by: Kilger.5490

Kilger.5490

I keep coming back to great sword, its ability to function well in any circumstance is hard to match. It is a power weapon, so spec according to that, otherwise its wide open to many options.

Kilger – Human Ranger
alts: Fangyre (Necro), Hardrawk (Ele);
Jade Quarry

in Ranger

Posted by: zitounae.4803

zitounae.4803

In power build; GS helps in mobility, have some contro, evadel and decent dmg. I kinda like it personnaly, and its a cool weapon lol.
It all depend on what you play (wvw, roaming? pvp?) and, your build / other weapon.

I ran into a VERY strong staff Elem earlier on live and was excited to see it -time4nerf-

in Ranger

Posted by: Seras.5702

Seras.5702

I personally like GS better than 1h sword. It hits hard, has defense, and mobility. You can use signets to buff that Maul strike for a heavy spike. I think it pairs well with pets, since you can evade, block, swoop, and stun while letting your pet chomp on an enemy.

Flixx Gatebuster, Orwynn Lightgrave, Seras Snapdragon
[TTBH] [HATE], Yak’s Bend(NA)

in Ranger

Posted by: Yelloweyedemon.2860

Yelloweyedemon.2860

Yes it is very viable. It’s not part of the meta build at the moment, but if you don’t really care about speedclears on dungeons/fractals, you should be just fine.

It is a good weapon with nice mobility and goes nice for power builds.

in Ranger

Posted by: LughLongArm.5460

LughLongArm.5460