Rabid vs. Carrion on Condi Survival

in Ranger

Posted by: Serafix.7254

Serafix.7254

I started playing my Ranger fulltime now and was messing with builds a bit. So far I enjoy playing Condi Ranger (for WvW that is).
Coming from a Guardian playing with Valkyrie/PVT/Cele Gear I got used to having a high health pool with some armor instead of no health pool and high armor.

I was wondering why people suggest using Rabid Gear for Ranger instead of Carrion mixed with Dire Rabid Trinkets? Is it the on Crit Traits?

in Ranger

Posted by: perko.8309

perko.8309

Rabid has precision which helps proc on crit effects. Condi ranger is strong enough that you don’t need to compromise your defense w/ carrion to get extra power. I recommend all Dire gear actually.

in Ranger

Posted by: Sebrent.3625

Sebrent.3625

http://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Template:Prefix_attributes
http://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Item_nomenclature

For condition damage as your primary, you can look at either of the above links and see that you have the following options:

Sinister: Condition Damage, Power, Precision

• This will be glassy, but you’ll have the most direct damage of any of the other options as well since you have both power and crit chance. The crits will help proc on-crit effects.

Carrion: Condition Damage, Power, Virtality

• Carrion will be less glassy than Sinister, but more glassy than the other builds as Vitality without more toughness isn’t going to make you take that much more to kill. It will do almost the same amount of direct damage, but a bit less since it doesn’t have precision. It will also not be proccing on-crit effects for you

Rabid: Condition Damage, Precision, Toughness

• Rabid is what you take to be tankier than Carrion & Sinister but less Tanky than Dire and Apostate. The only real reason to take Rabid is if you need the critical chance to proc on-crit effects from traits, sigils, etc. … though be warned that your crits can proc benefits for your opponents as well.