Requesting help for a Healing/Support Build.

in Ranger

Posted by: MyraKai.9326

MyraKai.9326

Greetings and thank you for taking the time to read this. I am new to the Ranger profession and so far I am loving it. (huzzah) At first since I’m not a fan of condition damage I was working on a power/precision build which entertained me for a while but ultimately felt boring as time progressed as it mainly focused on auto-attacks with some slight CC.

My favorite class that I had enjoyed until I began my ranger was my support ele and so I wanted to try to make my ranger a suitable support. Sadly a personal pet-peeve/fault of mine is that I’m not a fan of playing “flavor of the month” builds in games so needless to say I didn’t take the traditional Spirit Ranger build that’s been quite popular recently.

I can’t deny spirits usefulness though and personally I like the benefits they bring to the team so I wanted to make use of them and the 30 point trait “Nature’s Voice” in the Nature Magic trait line that caught my eye. I wound up with this build which I’m still testing:

http://gw2skills.net/editor/?fMAQRBMPdG2JRFdBXVhXFgWGQaF0k3jWJWER3jRpUCxL+4kJ-T0AgzE3o8y5l5GZX2uGisEZLypgpIPIA

The main features were to provide perma AoE healing+swiftness with the “guard” skill as well as having two spirits (frost and stone or for more damage frost and sun) and should things get bad (or if the group needs constant vigor/purifies) I have healing spring should the need arise. The major downside of course is that my spirits won’t move with me so this wouldn’t be great for constant mobile fights. As well as the complete lack of a stun-breaker. :/

Weapon choice (so far) is Sword+Axe and Axe+warhorn. I’m not certain on these choices as I feel like I should have at least 1 “long” ranged weapon or the torch for the fire field, however I felt off-hand axe was way too good to pass up and the warhorn felt needed just for group Fury.