So.... Rangers are supposed to melee?

in Ranger

Posted by: Tacit Ronin.2097

Tacit Ronin.2097

I played the original GW but I’m new to GW2. I rolled a Ranger as I tend to enjoy pet classes and ranged combat. I looked at some guides to get me started and nearly all of them seemed to suggest Rangers were better off using swords than bows.

Is this true? Not sure I want to bother levelling what’s going to feel (to me anyway) like a Thief with a pet.

in Ranger

Posted by: Fluffball.8307

Fluffball.8307

That’s for efficient 5 man dungeon groups. For open world or competitive (PvP and WvW) there are plenty of ranged options.

in Ranger

Posted by: Siroso.2769

Siroso.2769

And don’t quote me on this, as I never play PvE, but I believe that ranger PvE rotations often start with longbow, blowing the rapid fire for vulnerability before switching to your sword/axe. Not sure if this is the case, but it means you get to carry your longbow all the time, even if you are only sometimes fighting at range!

It’s not that you don’t ever use longbow or range in PvE, the problem people have is with players who stay in longbow when it’s suboptimal.

<— Broskies /Lulzranger

in Ranger

Posted by: Miltek.2104

Miltek.2104

Naah. Ranger are the longest range fighters with ranged weapons.
In dungeons you must keep close to the rest of the team to get might’s and boons from them. Also sword has better overall dps than Longbow.
It would be bad if melee would be worse than ranged, there would be no point to not stick ranged combat all the time.

But in open world PvE, leveling, PvP and WvW scenario your longbow is absolute monster.
If you build yourself into burst spec, you can spike targets/another players in 2 seconds. (see atachment)

tldr;
In dungeons stick to sword, in other use what you like

Attachments:

Trust me. I’m engineer

(edited by Miltek.2104)

in Ranger

Posted by: Kaybosh.5183

Kaybosh.5183

Ranger, remove the second r !