instead of beastmaster/shouts.....

in Ranger

Posted by: Hans.8467

Hans.8467

Hi guys,

Almost everyone is running beastmaster/shout builds in pvp, is there a good alternative for power builds?

in Ranger

Posted by: Fluffball.8307

Fluffball.8307

You can cover the AF generation from regen and the speed boosts via other means, but the real benefit is WHaO and SotP are so incredibly strong.

If you’re not using those, 1) I think you handicapped yourself slightly, and 2) you need to have another traited heal at minimum, and ideally elite. Which basically leaves TU + entangle. Traps are sort of blah, but you could go skirmishing/druid/BM and take HS + SotP.

in Ranger

Posted by: Prophet.1584

Prophet.1584

i’ve been using WS with Survival utilities for cleanses and TU for a heal, it works OK but i get much better results running shouts.

I’m sorry, Dave. I’m afraid I can’t do that.

in Ranger

Posted by: Tragic Positive.9356

Tragic Positive.9356

I started playing this recently. It works as a fine alternative. Take a look around this template and change anything that might come to your mind, including LB for staff or whatever.

http://gw2skills.net/editor/?vNAQNBjYD7kQFoXQskFwlFgqFskJYwz0c6Q15wt4acNJrAwBoEnnG-TZBFAB3v/Q/lBS4gAAwTAQgLAAA

I get similar or better results (depending on matchup or situation) with the same stats but different playstyle.
More access to Stealth (Smokescale field finishers + LB#3), Traited Warhorn, works almost as Diamond Skin ele but against Power (33% Bark Skin, 33% Protection, possible 50% from Weakness, another 50% with Guard, 7% from rune and Troll Unguent keeps ticking).
It lacks might stacks and stability from SotP (has 3 stun breaks and Shared Anguish). The regen and swiftness are not permanent, either. It has more utility, though.

“Observe, learn and counter.”

in Ranger

Fluffball.8307