D/D, Is this still viable for WvW Roaming?

in Thief

Posted by: mPascoal.4258

mPascoal.4258

hey guys
This might be just me because I’m kinda new with the Thief but my favourite style to play Thief is with Stealth, and my favourite weapon set by far is D/D. The thing is with D/D I often can’t fight other thief’s, specially D/P ones, I can’t stealth and can’t do the burst I need too. With other classes most of the time I’m fine but running D/D vs D/P is a lose to me.

Is D/D a weapon set still viable for WvW Roaming? Is just me and I need to train more?

Phask - Guardian/DH | Phaskk - Warrior | Phaask - Revenant

in Thief

Posted by: Incurafy.6329

Incurafy.6329

It’s perfectly viable, but you will have trouble with D/P Thieves because they’re practically a hard counter to it.

thiefhitfor2kbetternerf
all is vain

in Thief

Posted by: RedSpectrum.1975

RedSpectrum.1975

It’s perfectly viable, but you will have trouble with D/P Thieves because they’re practically a hard counter to it.

This is all that is really needed to say, oh and classes that are good at kiting may give you trouble, and tanky classes since you lack the pulsing blind of pistol offhand

Shawtell, Zen Verani, Rayshia Howen, Iyado, Colace Nzoir, Arteel Fyrien [Teef]

in Thief

Posted by: Dee Jay.2460

Dee Jay.2460

I switched between D/D and D/P for a while over the past months. I generally prefer the D/D play-style because I find the D/P Stealth mechanic incredibly contrived and frustrating (god kitten Heartseekers into random pets and minions).

That said, D/P is definitely the superior weapon-set.

Not only does it hard-counter D/D, but it also allows you to go toe-to-toe with Warriors, something D/D can’t. Black Powder is just incredibly potent against melee combatants in almost every situation. Headshot too is quite useful if you’re good at timing it.

in Thief

Posted by: Ghostwolf.9863

Ghostwolf.9863

Played D/P for a while, but it started to bore me, and tried out D/D for a bit,