Endgame PvE DPS Numbers

Endgame PvE DPS Numbers

in Thief

Posted by: Zlater.6789

Zlater.6789

I started playing GW2 a month or two ago, and since I’ve been at lvl80 I’ve been working really hard to find the perfect build for me. I’ve spent so much time talking to other thieves and getting to know how they play, this is what I’ve found so.

-The 2 strongest weapons are staff and main hand dagger, and its not even a little difference.
-Using initiative for doing damage will usually result in a DPS loss because of activation/cast times. So only use a skill when it will result in a DPS boost, like heart seeker; or it meets a situational requirement. Like a shadow shot to get into melee range, or basilisk venom and headshot to ridiculously quickly destroy break bars.
-The elite specialization will only be superior to trickery while you are actually weilding a staff, not at any other point. As such bounding dodger only situationly boosts DPS, it should not be used actively but it should be ‘set and forget,’ in other words, rotating it does not boost damage.
-Stolen items are mostly useless, some are good to use, but most are only if that exact situation calls for it, which is almost never, and often actually never.

In terms of traits, you should always have crit strikes and deadly arts.
Sundering Strikes > Practiced Tolerance (unless you already have too much vulnerability from elsewhere)
Invigorating Precision > No Quarter (you don’t do damage while you are dead)
Executioner > Improvisation or Potent Poison
Thrill of the Crime >/= Haste (you should be spamming steal, even out of combat)

On both builds I use haste because it provides the best DPS boost of all of the utility skills, its also a stun break and condition cleansing ability.
The best runes to use are Scholar or Thief runes, unless you have another idea, I tried all of the free runes. Any rune without a +% is mostly inferior.