I'm Sigil, and I'm a ranged noob.

in Thief

Posted by: Sigil.9054

Sigil.9054

I rather love my thief. Besides my thief, I’ve leveled an Elementalist and an Engineer to 80, and a Warrior to mid-30’s. My thief remains my favorite, for reasons I can’t describe. Unfortunate, all the really good builds for thieves seem to favor melee and PvP. I have two problems with this:

a.) I can’t melee to save my life. On any class I’ve tried. I get stomped when I try melee weapons/builds.
b.) I don’t enjoy PvP. In any game. No, no. It’s true, though I’ll admit that I love how GW2’s PvP is implemented. WvW is very cool, IMO.

So, what I need is a thief build that emphasizes ranged in PvE/Events/Dungeons. I’ve tried looking some up, but the ones I found were either outdated, or got extremely negative feed back, even from other ranged enthusiasts.

Much love to whoever helps me with this.

EDIT: After looking over the suggestions, I came up with something, and I’d like people’s thoughts on it: https://forum-en.gw2archive.eu/forum/professions/thief/I-m-Sigil-and-I-m-a-ranged-noob/first#post2136360

Zoujuu / Seldi Witt
Tarnished Coast

(edited by Sigil.9054)

in Thief

Posted by: Enjoyluck.2618

Enjoyluck.2618

Short bow is thief’s best weapon of choose in my opinion.

in Thief

Posted by: randomfightfan.4091

randomfightfan.4091

I have probably the best pve thief build but it’s no where near the best for wvw. It also takes a lot of practice to use. My suggestion is to just stay ranged for now. Watch the abilities of the enemies carefully. You will get a good view of this while you’re safely at ranged. After a while, push yourself to get in close and avoid the abilities you’ve been watching closely. It’ll come naturally, just keep at it You’ll be meleeing bosses in no time!

Check out my page for some good thiefisms :)
http://www.youtube.com/user/randomfightfan/videos?view=0&flow=grid

in Thief

Sigil.9054

Yes, I suppose I could adapt...