IMHO an epic WvW build (Guide)

in Thief

Posted by: Jurica.1742

Jurica.1742

Hey all. I’ve been playing around with my thief a bit and I’ve come up with something I think is an EPIC build. Has great survivability, huge damage and is quite hard to counter. I’m not an expert by any means but I really like what I’ve come up with.

Weapons

Dagger – Classic DPS weapon for a thief, has the most damage.
There are two sigil combinations.

1. (superior) sigils of force + air – We will have 0 in Deadly Arts so the extra 5% damage is useful. The air sigil is just a little bit extra DPS, 30% chance on crit to cause a lighting strike. A bit more damage every 3 crits, can’t complain.
  2. (superior) sigils of force – Again, 0 in Deadly Arts, if you want, you can swap the air sigil for another force.

Two weapon type combinations.

1. berserker – Classic burst stats gearing up for most DPS, not really needed in my opinion.
  2. valkyrie – Power, vitality and critical damage, vitality will be useful, power we need to buff and crit damage is always welcome.

Shortbow – Classic.. ¸Infiltrator’s arrow for extra mobility, we won’t have a passive (nor active) speed buff.. We can also use it for some AOE damage with it if required for anything.

1. (superior) sigil of hydromancy – We’ll be using the SB to run away from zergs so when we switch to it after killing a player, it’s useful to have the guys chasing us chilled. It will slow them down. We won’t be using the SB for anything offensively orientated so there is no point in getting a sigil of force or accuracy.

Armor

Armor rune:

1. (superior) rune of the thief – We get precision from it, the condition damage is not what we’re after, it’s just there and will aid the poison that our auto-attack applies but it’s about it. Why we’re really going for it is +10% damage while behind or beside a foe. It will make our back stabs more powerful and will really pay off.

Stats:
Multiple options..

1. berserker – Again, classic DPS gear..