Is Scorpion Pull at all useful?

in Thief

Posted by: Amor.1658

Amor.1658

So, I’ve been playing around with WvW a bit, and while I’m an admitted novice and still learning, it seems like Scorpion Pull is next to useless, especially when compared to the other pulls professions have. Despite at least a near dozen times trying to use it, it only succeeded once – and that was against a Mesmer who was standing still. It seems that unless they’re right on top of me (invalidating the need for the skill, really) its impossible to grab someone because they’ll just be out of range by the time the second long animation finally ‘hits’ them.

Is there just something I’m messing up? Or is this skill really that useless and doesn’t deserve being on a skill bar?

in Thief

Posted by: Puru.4217

Puru.4217

It’s terrible.

Scorpion wire: Pulls your target, it’s a projectile, 30s cd, 1/2 cast time, buggy pull
Necrotic grasp: Grants life force, chills your target, pulls your target, it’s a projectile, 30s cd, 3/4 cast time, buggy pull.
Into the void: 2 skills in one, not a projectile, pulls multiple targets reliably and you can choose where you want to pull them, unlike the two others doesn’t even requires your targets to be at the extremity of a fort wall to hope getting a pull, 25s cd, 1/4s cast time.

I think the comparison speak for itself. It should at least steal 2 boons.

That being said it still have some uses, pulling someone can result in a free kill.

It’s not my fault if S/P is not popular !!!

(edited by Puru.4217)

in Thief

Posted by: Rayya.2591

Rayya.2591

i use it on jumping puzzle vs campers, i stealth and pull them before they knockback/fear me
outside JP i find it uselss, skill is easy to dodge /block, and it won’;t pull more then 600 range:)

http://imgur.com/a/fKgjD
no.1 WvW kills

in Thief

Posted by: Zephyric Reaper.3049

Zephyric Reaper.3049