Is this a good PvE build?

in Thief

Posted by: Nesoroth.3026

Nesoroth.3026

Q:

Hi, I am new to Guild Wars 2 and was looking for a decent build for my low-level thief and came upon this: http://www.guildhead.com/skill-calc#mckzzc9cMMwhMMMwhmxx9MamRbzaqV I’d like to find out from anyone who is willing to help me. Is it a good build for PvE, also if you do not think it is a good build could you please suggest one that is.

in Thief

Posted by: Gungnir Grimm.7123

Gungnir Grimm.7123

that is a glass canon build, and not the best one ever. since you are new to guild wars 2 I would recommend sword/pistol or dagger/dagger for conditions with death blossom

for sword pistol. use black powder to blind melee enemies and pistol whip/auto attack to finish them off, and use infiltrators strike or shortbow for ranged enemies. here is a good starting point to build towards. put priority on critical strikes and acrobatics while leveling to slowly move into this build.
http://www.guildhead.com/skill-calc#mckmMc9coFLCMoFLCMax0GaoozqMaV

for dagger/dagger condition damage a good starting point is
http://www.guildhead.com/skill-calc#mckzzMz9MoFnrMoFLCM9MxGGVmqMaVk

priorities being shadow arts and trickery. you jump in, drop caltrops once you have them, and death blossom till you are out of initiative. then you dodge away and kite the enemies until they are dead or your initiative recharges. on single strong enemies you switch to pistol/dagger and go in and out of stealth with cloak and dagger to stack bleeds with sneak attack while healing yourself in stealth. the build makes stealth a good source of healing, and turns shadow refuge into a second heal skill, so it has high survivability.

Gungnir Grimm – 80 Thief
Gungnir Aurus – 80 Guardian
[AUX] Isle of Janthir

(edited by Gungnir Grimm.7123)

in Thief

Posted by: Bloodgruve.6038

Bloodgruve.6038