New to GW2 and trying to understand my thief

in Thief

Posted by: Maleioch.1907

Maleioch.1907

As stated, I’m new to GW. But I’m not new to MMO’s and Thieves/Rogue classes. They are always my favorite.

Usually I’m faced with simply increasing my dex or the equivalent as well as worrying about my dps and crit chances. Obviously that is not how the Thief mechanics work in GW2.

I am not interested in WvW or PvP. I enjoy the PvE aspect of MMO’s. What I’m so confused about is how to spec my traits and gear toward the PvE and Dungeoneering in the game. With so many choices as far as Crit Chance, Power, Toughness, Healing, Condition Dmg/Duration etc. I feel a bit overwhelmed. I do understand that there are so many variables and that a lot depends on how I wish to play the game.

I like D/D and SB. It feels fun to me. I like making mobs bleed like crazy! Seeing those numbers fly off their heads tickles me to death…. and them as well. So if that’s what I like then I think I want to have gear that is adding to my Condition Damage and Duration. Correct? And I suppose that would mean I want to spend more points in Deadly Arts and Trickery. Are there builds based on Condition? Would a build like this work in dungeons as well?

in Thief

Posted by: Kurow.6973

Kurow.6973

As stated, I’m new to GW. But I’m not new to MMO’s and Thieves/Rogue classes. They are always my favorite.

Usually I’m faced with simply increasing my dex or the equivalent as well as worrying about my dps and crit chances. Obviously that is not how the Thief mechanics work in GW2.

I am not interested in WvW or PvP. I enjoy the PvE aspect of MMO’s. What I’m so confused about is how to spec my traits and gear toward the PvE and Dungeoneering in the game. With so many choices as far as Crit Chance, Power, Toughness, Healing, Condition Dmg/Duration etc. I feel a bit overwhelmed. I do understand that there are so many variables and that a lot depends on how I wish to play the game.