Opening from stealth?

Opening from stealth?

in Thief

Posted by: Limey.2769

Limey.2769

So in all other MMO’s i’ve played (and I know this one is different), when you initiate a fight with a stealth class, you typically open with the big stealth opener (backstab, or whatever).

However, unless I’m missing something, you need to already be in melee range to use C&D to gain stealth, unless you want to blow your heal skill to start out that way?

Granted my thief is only level 4 and i’m still learning, but that seemed odd to me.

Am I missing something that will allow me to approach my target (even if the approach is only 3 seconds) and open with the big stealth burst?

thanks.

System: I5 3570k@ 4.4 ~ 7970 X-fire ~ 32GB DDR3 ~ 2×120gb SSD ~ 2×2tb storage drives

Opening from stealth?

in Thief

Posted by: Grimwolf.7163

Grimwolf.7163

Steal.
Shadowsteps are the real key to unleashing big unexpected burst on people. Assassins in GW1 didn’t even have stealth; it was all about shadowstepping.

Opening from stealth?

in Thief

Posted by: BobbyT.7192

BobbyT.7192

what most thieves do is pre cast C&D, then steal. Steal has no cast time therefore won’t interrupt C&D, allowing you to hit when you step to him, and prefect range for the BS

Opening from stealth?

in Thief

Posted by: Rottaran Owain.6789

Rottaran Owain.6789

As opposed to most other MMOs, long-term stealth is basically non-existent. Thieves tend to use stealth many times mid-combat in short bursts via many methods (C&D, heal skill, combo fields, utilities) to their means be it escape, repositioning, or hitting with a burst.

Opening from stealth?

in Thief

Posted by: JakobGW.5730

JakobGW.5730

Granted my thief is only level 4 and i’m still learning

Welcome to the class!

Opening from stealth?

in Thief

Posted by: Dasorine.1964

Dasorine.1964