Please teach me how to play in dungeons.

in Thief

Posted by: Gryz.8376

Gryz.8376

Obviously I am a noob, and not worthy to run any dungeons. Not even StoryMode. I am clearly doing everything wrong. So fellow Thieves, please help me understand how I should spec and gear for dungeons. I do PvE only. (I never cared about PvP). I would say I’m a “slightly above average” player. With decent reflexes, a low ping, lots of time, and half a brain.

So far I have learned.
1) You can’t be glass cannon in dungeons.
You will die. So I spec first Toughness/Healing. Secondly Vitality+BoonDuration (so I can get VigorOnHealing). Thirdly Precision+CritDamage. My gear has as much +healing and toughness as I can find, and secondly a mix of precision/power and vitality.

2) You can’t be melee in dungeons.
You’ll die a lot more in melee than when ranged. Of course some players have such large schkitties that they can do anything they want. But for most players, ranged is the preferred way to go. I use shortbows now.

3) You need synergy.
And that is where my questions are.
What traits can I get to help my party ? What combo fields should I use ?

• The only one I can find is: Lotus Poison (weakens the target when you poison him -> target will do 50% less damage to you and your party). Do you need a special “poison build” to maximize the amount of time you apply poisons (and weaken the target) ? Do I need special weapons to maximize poisoning ? Daggers and shortbow have poison in their nr-1-ability. Pistols don’t apply poison at all. I don’t know about the other weapons.
    So, is Lotus Poison any good ? What is the best way to use it ?
  • What is the best way to heal ourselves ? So far, I think the Signet of Malice (which heals us every time we do damage) is by far the most healing/minute. The passive healing is so good, that using the active ability is almost a form of suicide. Do we have any other ways to heal ourself ?
  • Do we have any way to heal our party ?