Q&A: shadowstep and walls

in Thief

Posted by: Reaven.3958

Reaven.3958

Q:

So I’m relatively new to the game. Hi! I’ve looked through the forums on this but haven’t found a thread with any official response, or even a really convincing argument from the community to my question: why can’t thieves shadow step up walls? I know they used to be able to (and to the best of my knowledge it’s been removed — correct and educate me if this is not the case!). I don’t understand the logic behind preventing this. It seems like it fits within what the class should be able to do conceptually as thieves and assassins, and I don’t really see the balance issue — sure, the thief can get up and wreak havoc, but at extreme risk to himself. If nothing else it would just force more players to position atop walls during a siege, and I don’t really see what’s wrong with that.

Anyway, before I get up in arms about it, if I’m totally out of line help me see the light. Please, though, don’t flame or be condescending. Let me know why you think the current state of things is justified, or, if you don’t, make your case to the contrary!

Thanks for your time!

in Thief

Posted by: Saturn.6591

Saturn.6591

Seriously? o.o

Thieves (as well as any other class with similar mechanics) can’t do that because it would make walls pretty much useless. Imagine if a few Thieves could just jump over the walls and go kill the keeplord. It would seriously break WvW.

As for cliffs and other spots – some work, some don’t. It’s a matter of trial and error to find out where it works.

in Thief

Posted by: Narkodx.1472

Narkodx.1472

Thief could never shadow step on to keep walls in WvW

You can only shadow step to locations where you have line of sight and where there is a clear path to that location – you wont be able to shadow step over a cliff for example

in Thief

Posted by: Reaven.3958

Reaven.3958

Narkodx, youtube would like a word with you: http://youtu.be/g1_XyObtGio?t=1m45s

Saturn —