Some help to a new player about lvling thief

in Thief

Posted by: Noshiz.8650

Noshiz.8650

Hello everyone, i just bought Guild Wars 2 (ye, i know maybe a bit late) and i started playing as a thief.

I always preferred the “rogue” class in an MMO so i rolled one here as well, and i am having some troubles.

I am playing on server Gandara (EU) and i am still level 14, but i find it difficult to level up, i die fast (i know about evasion but it’s not much help if stamina gets low), i run out of quests fast and i have to grind plus i cant do many events because i am mostly alone.

So far, i’ve seen that this game is made with having in mind that there are gonna be many players around an area of leveling so they would help each other, but i rarely see any other player.

I have had some help so far from some players in some group quests, but other than that i don’t really see them around.

Could any higher level thief (or anyone else with some knowledge) tell me what traits, skills and weapon combination to use so i can have more survivability and make my life a bit easier while leveling?

I read that thief is not an easy class to play, but since i used to play with rogues i am willing to give it a shot, hoping that ill improve later on, after all i just started.

For traits i started using Shadow Arts for toughness, as for weapons i use ether shortbow or S/D.

By the way i am Sylvari, so i am at that starting zone, and i am almost ready to leave it.

Any help/tips are more than appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

(edited by Noshiz.8650)

in Thief

Posted by: Azraeel.1238

Azraeel.1238

Hello Mate,

Welcome to GW2. I play on Gandara server, it is a pretty much heavy populated server. It is true that you barely find people on starting areas, this is mainly because most of them either farming World Bosses, or in Southsun (Current world event).