@Thief mains: Playing your alt vs. thieves

in Thief

Posted by: godmoney.6025

godmoney.6025

I have been maining thief for 3 years, mostly WVW and sPVP. I decided to spend some time on other classes before the expansion hits, most notably my full zerker power necro.

I was shocked. I am absolutely decimating thieves in wvw and pvp. Granted they might not have been the world’s best thieves, but I only have 25 hours on necro and sometimes still fumble combos and keystrokes. I’ve only lost to one thief in a fair 1v1 and that was a condi dire perplexity thief and I didnt have Plague Signet equipped.
Sure, sometimes in a group fight a d/d burst jumps me for 15k backstab, that happens.

It makes me sad, they all rely on stealth to try and survive/burst, but it only helps them flee and reset. As soon as they show themselves they get wrecked by 6k 1200 range auto attacks, while their backstabs just chunk out my Shroud a bit. I truly felt sad when I managed to down 2 thieves at once inside their Refuge using only Shroud 4&5. Didn’t even have to target any of them.

I’m feeling more useful on a class I have 25 hours on than on my 3000 hour main.
Disgusting.

So how do you feel when fighting other thieves whilst playing your alts?

La Fantoma – Aurora Glade

(edited by godmoney.6025)

in Thief

Posted by: Tarkan.5609

Tarkan.5609

If I’m playing my alt Ele (Cele D/D, Champion Magus though) its a great achievement for Thieves to survive… usually my burn even kills them if they decide to run away

When I’m playing on S/F Fresh Air, D/P thieves are pretty hard actually, as I can’t land any skills apart from phoenix, I am usually able to burst them down but if they are decent they have it pretty easy beating me as I can’t do much

When I’m playing Berserker Engi (Champion Genius), Thieves better run, my burst is too much to deal with for them…

On Warrior (Champion Legionnaire), they don’t stand a chance either due to high damage/high toughness/high healing