Thief's bad for dungeons?

in Thief

Posted by: penguin.1967

penguin.1967

I was talking with some Guild mates on vent the other night as I was playing my Thief and they mentioned that they have never had played with a thief that could stay alive in dungeons very well. well I took up the challenge but was wondering if I bit off more then I can chew. while I am new to the game kind of I am an experienced MMO player but the more research I do on thief’s the more I find people calling them Glass cannons, so my question is when I get him up enough to run Dungeons what are some things I should watch for? not looking for build tips or in depth class guides kind of stuff but more general tips for keeping alive in the dungeons when running my thief through since he will probably be the first character I run them with.

Thanks

in Thief

Posted by: Pavel.8531

Pavel.8531

The problem is – there is nothing another class can’t do better than thief in dungeons, except shadow refuge res-es… So back on topic – yeah, thief is bad class to dungeon with.

in Thief

Posted by: Coronach.6792

Coronach.6792

Depends on how good you are really, it is possible to stay alive and be bring some utility like group stealth etc and you can go for rabid/carrion gear stacking up toughness like mad and deal some decent damage with conditions.
But as Pavel said, other classes can do the same and probably do it better then thiefs.

We cant really compete with warriors kittened dmg and tankyness nor with the group utilities engineers/rangers bring. So honestly it’s kind of a huge meh, some dungeons I’ve been able to tank with my thief mostly duo to D/D lotus spin with life steal food and signet of malice keeping me alive through the dmg but even then a guardian could do the same while healing the party, taking a dance lesson and sip a cup of tea.

oh forgot, with S/D we’re actually kinda semi useful as boon stripper